The O’Jays, (left to right) Walter Williams Sr., Eric Grant and Eddie Levert, shares the stage with the Ohio Players at Rose Music Center in Huber Heights on Wednesday, June 28. CONTRIBUTED

R&B and funk music to take over the Rose this week

The O’Jays and Dayton-famous Ohio Players appear Wednesday. The Four Tops and Temptations appear Friday.

The soulful sounds of classic R&B and funk will fill Rose Music Center in Huber Heights this week. The outdoor venue will host four beloved acts on two different bills: the O’Jays and Ohio Players on Wednesday, June 28, and the Temptations and the Four Tops on Friday, June 30.

Here’s a quick look at the four long-running groups.


Formed: 1958, Canton, Ohio.

Fast facts: The group, whose name is a tribute to Cleveland disc jockey Eddie O’Jay, hit the Billboard charts at No. 93 with its 1963 single, “Longley Drifter.” The O’Jays were inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in 2005.

Original members: Eddie Levert, William Powell, Walter Williams, Bobby Massey and Bill Isles.

Current members: Eddie Levert, Walter Williams and Eric Grant.

Signature songs: “Love Train,” “Back Stabbers”

Artist info:


Formed: 1959, Dayton.

Fast facts: The funk pioneers, which formed as the Untouchables, had three consecutive platinum albums in the mid-1970s but has, unbelievably, not been inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. The group’s song “Fire” is used as the theme for Fox’s reality series, “Hell’s Kitchen.”

Original members: Leroy Bonner, Marshall Jones, Clarence Satchell, Pee Wee Middlebrooks and Cornelius Johnson.

Current members: Diamond Williams, Chet Willis, Billy Beck and Robert Jones.

Signature songs: “Fire,” “Love Rollercoaster”

Artist info:


Formed: 1960, Detroit, Mich.

Fast facts: The vocal group, inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in 1989, built its reputation on tight harmonies and flashy suits. The Temptations scored four number one singles on Billboard’s Hot 100 chart and 14 number ones on the R&B chart.

Original members: Otis Williams, Al Bryant, Melvin Franklin, Eddie Kendricks and Paul Williams.

Current members: Otis Williams, Ron Tyson, Terry Weeks, Larry Braggs and Willie Green.

Signature songs: “My Girl,” “Just My Imagination (Running Away with Me)”

Artist info:


Formed: 1953, Detroit, Mich.

Fast facts: The group had tenures on labels like Chess Records and Columbia Records before finally finding success on Motown Records in the mid-’60s. The Four Tops, which was inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in 1990, placed two or more singles onto the Billboard Hot 100 each year from 1964 and 1975.

Original members: Abdul Fakir, Levi Stubb, Renaldo Benson and Lawrence Peyton.

Current members: Abdul Fakir, Ronnie McNeir, Lawrence Payton Jr. and Harold Bonhart.

Signature songs: “I Can’t Help Myself (Sugar Pie Honey Bunch),” “Reach Out I’ll Be There”

Artist info: