Two local authors are finalists for prestigious state literary award

Two area authors are being considered for one of the most prestigious literary awards in the state of Ohio.

Dayton Daily News Literary Life columnist and author Sharon Short (known by her pen name, Jess Montgomery) and Kameron Hurley are the Dayton-area novelists nominated for the Ohioana Book Award of 2020.

>> Dayton Dragons season officially canceled

Since 1929, the Ohioana Library Association has worked to preserve and promote great literary works by Ohio authors. In 1942, the Ohioana Library Association began awarding the Ohioana Book Award to an area author’s work chosen by the organization’s panel of judges. An author’s book will also be awarded the Ohioana Readers’ Choice Award through an online poll accessible by readers everywhere.

>> Join the community conversation about combating racism with Big Read project and talk

Sharon Short, or Jess Montgomery, of Dayton, is the Literary Life Columnist for the Dayton Daily News and author of "The Widows," the first book in the "Kinship" series about two women dealing with the death of the man they love. The author has received multiple artist residencies and awards, including the Individual Excellence Award in Literary Arts from Ohio Arts Council.

Kameron Hurley, the other area author in the running to receive this award, is an award-winning author and trained historian specializing in the future of war and resistance movements.

Her book, "The Light Brigade," is a science fiction thriller about a futuristic war. The Dayton-area resident has been the recipient of numerous awards, including the Sydney J. Bounds Award for Best Newcomer and the Kitschy Award for Best Debut Novel.

>> Dayton Art Institute announces reopening plan, cancellation of Oktoberfest, Art Ball

Anyone can vote in the 5th Annual Ohioana Readers Choice Award contest by by visiting the Ohioana Library Association's website. You will also be able to view the full list of nominated books by visiting the organization's website. Voting ends on Friday, July 17, at 3 p.m. The book that receives the most votes will win the award.

About the Author