Caption

Here’s why you must see a movie at this theater this Christmas season 

You say you love Christmas movies...

Prove it. 

The Plaza Theatre is at the beginning of a full on Christmas movie extravaganza.

>> RELATED: Christmas Story-palooza taking over Dayton

The historic theater at 33 S. Main St. in downtown Miamisburg is featuring a list of new and old classic films that include “White Christmas,” “Bad Santa,” “The Polar Express,”  “A Christmas Story,” “Scrooged,”  “Miracle on 34th Street,” “Home Alone,” “It’s a Wonderful Life,” “Arthur Christmas” and “National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation.

It will wrap the whole thing up with “Die Hard” on Friday,  Dec. 29. 

>> Here are 7 of our favorite Dayton holiday traditions

“We tried to play everyone’s holiday favorites. There are still more to play, but I ran out of December,” Emily von Stuckrad-Smolinski, the theater’s executive director, said of the festival.

The theater already has screened “Holiday Inn” and “Elf.” 

>> What you should know about Miamisburg’s historic Plaza Theatre 

Admission is $5 per person. 

It is the second year for the Christmas offerings that are like a figgy pudding for the imagination. 

The lineup of Christmas season films includes: 

A Christmas Story — 6 p.m. Thursday Dec. 7;  4:15 Sunday, Dec. 10;  7 p.m. Wednesday, Dec. 20 and Thursday, Dec. 21 

National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation — 8 p.m. Thursday Dec. 7 and Friday, Dec. 8; 3:45 p.m. Friday, Dec. 8 

Home Alone — 5:50 p.m. Friday, Dec. 8 and 2 p.m. and 6:30 p.m.  Sunday, Dec. 10  

Arthur Christmas — 2 p.m. Saturday, Dec. 9 

Scrooged — 7 p.m. Wednesday, Dec. 13 and  6:15 p.m. Thursday, Dec. 14 

Bad Santa — 8:30 p.m. Thursday, Dec. 14 and Saturday, Dec. 16

The Polar Express — 5:15 p.m. Friday, Dec. 15 and 3:45 p.m. Saturday, Dec. 16

White Christmas — 8 p.m. Friday, Dec. 15; 6 p.m. Saturday, Dec. 16 and  6:15 p.m. Sunday, Dec. 17  

White Christmas Sing A Long — 1 p.m. Saturday, Dec. 16 and 1:30 p.m. Sunday, Dec. 17  

Miracle on 34th Street — 5:30 p.m. and 7:35 p.m. Friday, Dec. 22 and 4:45 p.m. Saturday, Dec. 23

It’s a Wonderful Life — 2 p.m. and 7 p.m. Saturday, Dec. 23

Die Hard — 7:30 p.m. Friday, Dec. 29

>> Enjoy German food, holiday shopping at Dayton’s Christkindlmarkt

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Most read

  1. 1 Festival on the Hill at Dayton Masonic Temple: live music, food & fun
  2. 2 Black Rock Bar and Grill coming to The Mall at Fairfield Commons
  3. 3 What is Sherri Saum doing after the Fosters? Dayton podcast

More from Dayton