COVID-19 Travel Advisory: Ohioans urged to avoid 16 states

The number of states for Ohioans to avoid has grown to an all-time high of 16 as COVID-19 cases surge across the nation.

The Ohio Department of Health on the eve of Thanksgiving updated its travel advisory for states reporting coronavirus testing rates of 15% and higher.

ExploreMontgomery County jumps to purple level 4; Warren on watch list

On Wednesday, the ODH also moved Montgomery County to the highest warning level — purple level 4 —on the color-coded Ohio Public Health Advisory System due to severe virus spread. Warren County was among 11 counties moved to the level 4 watch list.

The updated list includes: Alabama, Arizona, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Mexico, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Wisconsin and Wyoming. Wyoming is at the top with positivity rates of 57.3%.

“Ohio itself is approaching 15% positivity and all Ohioans should be cautious,” Gov. Mike DeWine posted on Twitter.

Ohio’s positivity rate is 14%, up from 13% last week, the ODH reported.

Those who enter Ohio after travel to the states on the travel advisory map are advised to self-quarantine for 14 days. This includes Ohioans and visitors.

ExploreCoronavirus: 10,835 daily cases, 417 hospitalizations reported in Ohio

About the Author