Dayton Daily News a finalist for 7 statewide journalism awards

Dayton Daily News

caption arrowCaption
Dayton Daily News

The Dayton Dayton News and staff members were named  finalists Tuesday seven categories in the 2019 Ohio Associated Press Media Editors Association contest.

The contest honors the best daily journalism work by newspapers, TV and radio stations from across the state.

Finalists for the Dayton Daily News include:

Best business writer: Kaitlin Schroeder

Best columnist: Amelia Robinson

Best sports writer:Tom Archdeacon

Best news writer:Cornelius Frolik

Best public service:Dayton Daily News, "The Path Forward"

Best investigative reporting:Josh Sweigart and Jeremy Kelley"Teacher Misconduct" (Nearly 600 teachers disciplined; 125 had licenses revoked last year in Ohio)

Best full-page design:See today's ePaper

“Our team is working very hard every day to produce in-depth investigations and local news and reporting that our readers can’t get anywhere else and it is good to see their work recognized as some of the best in Ohio,” said Editor Jim Bebbington.

RELATED: The Dayton Daily News’ best investigative reporting of 2018

WHIO-TV Channel 7 staff are finalists in five categories in the TV competition: best producer, Emily Gay; best weathercast, McCall Vrydaghs and Kirstie Zontini; best newscast; and best digital presence.

Work by the staff at AM 1290 and News 95.7 WHIO radio was named as finalist in three categories in the radio competition: Best spot news coverage for “School Violence”; best newscast and best digital presence.

Cox Media Group Ohio owns the newspaper, TV and radio stations.

Winners in each category will be announced at the annual Ohio APME awards banquet May 4 in Columbus.

About the Author