Boxer stuns showboating foe with final-second knockout

Sam Maxwell, right, unloaded a right hand to defeat Sabri Sediri during Saturday's boxing match.
Caption
Sam Maxwell, right, unloaded a right hand to defeat Sabri Sediri during Saturday's boxing match.

Credit: Matthew Lewis/Getty Images

Credit: Matthew Lewis/Getty Images

It's an old adage in boxing -- keep your hands up and your chin down. One boxer violated that rule Saturday, and it cost him the WBO European super lightweight title, according to Bleacher Report.

>> Read more trending news

Sabri Sediri appeared to be leading Sam Maxwell in the final round of a battle of undefeated boxers. All he needed to do to capture the vacant WBO title was to finish the 10th and final round.

However, as his confidence soared, Sediri began to taunt Maxwell and left his hands down. With his chin exposed, the showboating Sediri was stunned as Maxwell connected with a solid right hand to the jaw seconds before the bell rang and sent his surprised opponent to the canvas, Bleacher Report said.

Sediri got up before the end of the count, but he was too dazed to continue and the referee called for the end of the fight.

Maxwell improved to 11-0. Sediri left with his head -- and chin -- down, and fell to 10-1.

About the Author