Cher to release ABBA tribute album ‘Dancing Queen’ Sept. 28

Cher is releasing an album of ABBA songs fresh off the release of “Mama Mia! Here We Go Again.”

The singer, who stars in the sequel to the movie musical that features music from the Swedish pop group, announced the album, called “Dancing Queen,” and the track list Thursday. The album includes “Mamma Mia,” which is featured prominently in both movie musicals.

>> Read more trending news

“I’ve always liked Abba and saw the original Mamma Mia musical on Broadway three times,” Cher said in a news release. “After filming ‘Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again,’ I was reminded again of what great and timeless songs they wrote and started thinking, ‘Why not do an album of their music?’ The songs were harder to sing than I imagined, but I'm so happy with how the music came out. I'm really excited for people to hear it. It's a perfect time.”

Credit: Stuart C. Wilson

Credit: Stuart C. Wilson

Variety reported that the album was recorded in London and Los Angeles with Mark Taylor, a longtime collaborator of the singer who previously produced her 1998 hit "Believe."

Cher tweeted a teaser of the new music in the form of a 40-second clip of "Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Man After Midnight)".

Entertainment Tonight reported that fans who preorder the album, set for a Sept. 28 release, will get a download of Cher's cover of the song.

The track listing for “Dancing Queen” is below:

  1. "Dancing Queen"
  2. "Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Man After Midnight)"
  3. "The Name Of The Game"
  4. "SOS"
  5. "Waterloo"
  6. "Mamma Mia"
  7. "Chiquitita"
  8. "Fernando"
  9. "The Winner Takes It All"
  10. "One Of Us"

About the Author