Oakwood teacher wins National Aviation Hall of Fame award

The National Aviation Hall of Fame (NAHF) has selected Oakwood High School science teacher Heidi Edwards as the 2018 A. Scott Crossfield Educator of the Year.

MORE: Oakwood must repay owners for inspections ruled unconstitutional

The NAHF presents the award each year to a teacher who uses aerospace to enhance class curriculum.

Edwards’ accomplishments include using her experience collecting and analyzing data with NASA as a SOFIA Ambassador to work with other Oakwood teachers to develop unique science and engineering opportunities for students. She is also the Executive Curriculum Director for Air Camp USA and a Dayton STEM Fellow.

Amanda Wright-Lane, great-grandniece of the Wright Brothers, congratulated the teacher-of-the-year after the announcement was made.

MORE: Oakwood beefs up security for new school year

“Heidi’s passion for working with our regional aviation assets to bring the finest STEM experiences to our community and nation has touched students and teachers across America,” Wright-Lane said. “Her exceptional curriculum delivery is rivaled only by her genuine excitement to work with young people.”

Oakwood Principal Paul Waller said Edwards provides students with opportunities that go above and beyond what most students experience in their high school classrooms.

“She makes learning relevant and fun by bringing real-life experiences into the classroom,” Waller said. “Her innovative spirit is contagious and inspirational to our students and teachers. Heidi never stops learning, and through this learning, she continues to create opportunities for our students. I am so proud of Heidi, and she is so deserving of this national recognition.”

MORE: Oakwood’s schools treasurer of 24 years leaves for Fairborn post

The Crossfield Award was created in 1986 by NAHF Enshrinee Scott Crossfield. Crossfield was a renowned test pilot, research pilot and aerospace researcher. His tests with pressurized suits led to the development of the space suit.

Edwards will receive the distinguished award during the President’s Reception at the Smithsonian National Air & Space Museum in Washington, D.C., Sept. 27.

About the Author