Protests prompt Ohio cities to issue curfews

After a weekend of protests in response to the death of George Floyd multiple Ohio cities continued to issue curfews for Monday evening.

>> Dayton protests: Worried by violence; hopeful for change

Springfield announced a curfew from 6 p.m. Monday until 6 a.m. Tuesday in the downtown area. The northern boundary is East North Street, the western boundary is Center Street, the southern boundary is West Jefferson and Monroe streets and the eastern boundary is Spring Street.

Downtown Dayton and the Oregon District had a curfew from 9 p.m. Saturday to 6 a.m. Sunday and then 7 p.m. Sunday to 6 a.m. Monday. Multiple roads into the downtown area were blocked by police Sunday night.

The city, however, has not announced plans for a curfew Monday evening.

>> How the weekend of protests in Dayton looked in photos

Cincinnati on Sunday announced a curfew from 9 p.m. to 6 a.m. The curfew expires Tuesday morning.

On Saturday, Columbus Mayor Andrew Ginther issued a curfew from 10 p.m. to 6 a.m. indefinitely.

Cleveland had implemented a weekend curfew that the mayor then extended. It remained in effect from 8 a.m. Monday to 8 p.m. Tuesday, making it the lone all-day curfew of Ohio's major cities.


>> Springfield police use tear gas against crowd of protesters remaining from afternoon march

>> PHOTOS: Protesters march through Dayton for second day of demonstrations

>> Historic downtown landmarks, businesses damaged in protest unrest

>> Small protest in Middletown ends with rocks thrown after dark Saturday

>> PHOTOS: Protesters gather in downtown Columbus on Thursday night

>> Cincinnati protests break into smaller groups; Some businesses damaged

About the Author