Who is in President Trump’s Cabinet?

You hear the names on the news, but do you know who makes up President Donald Trump’s Cabinet?

The Cabinet includes Vice President Mike Pence, the attorney general and secretaries and directors of the country's executive departments.

>> Read more trending news

As of April 8, the departments and the administrators are as follows:

  • Administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency Andrew Wheeler, who assumed office Feb. 28.
  • Administrator of the Small Business Administration Linda E. McMahon, who assumed office Feb. 14, 2017.
  • U.S. Attorney General William Barr assumed office in Feb. 14, 2019, after the previous attorney general, Jeff Sessions, resigned at the request of the president on Nov. 7, 2018.
  • Director of National Intelligence Daniel Coats, who assumed office March 16, 2017.
  • Director of the Central Intelligence Agency Gina Haspel, who assumed office May 21, 2018.
  • Director of the Office of Management and Budget Mick Mulvaney, who assumed office Feb. 16, 2017.
  • Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue, who assumed office April 25, 2017.
  • Secretary of Commerce Wilbur Ross, who assumed office Feb. 28, 2017.
  • Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos, who assumed office Feb. 7, 2017.
  • Secretary of Energy Rick Perry, who assumed office March 2, 2017.
  • Secretary of Health and Human Services Alex Azar, who assumed office Jan. 29, 2018.
  • Secretary of Housing and Urban Development Ben Carson, who assumed office March 2, 2017.
  • Secretary of Labor Alexander Acosta, who assumed office April 28, 2017.
  • Secretary of State Mike Pompeo, who assumed office April 26, 2018.
  • Secretary of Transportation Elaine Chao, who assumed office Jan. 31, 2017.
  • Secretary of the Treasury Steve Mnuchin, who assumed office Feb. 13, 2017.
  • Secretary of Veterans Affairs Robert Wilkie, who assumed office July 30, 2018.
  • U.S. Trade Representative Robert Lighthizer, who assumed office May 15, 2017.
  • Vice President Mike Pence, who assumed office Jan. 20, 2017.

Previous members of the Cabinet include:

  • Secretary of Defense James Mattis, who resigned Dec. 20, 2018. Trump named Deputy Secretary of Defense Patrick Shanahan to serve as acting secretary of defense after Mattis' departure.
  • Representative of the United States to the United Nations Nikki R. Haley, who announced her resignation in October 2018, effective by the end of the year. Trump announced in early December that he'd chosen State Department spokeswoman and former Fox News host Heather Nauert to replace Haley and that the position would no longer hold Cabinet rank.
  • Secretary of Homeland Security Kirstjen Nielsen resigned April 7. Trump announced U.S. Customs and Border Protection Commissioner Kevin McAleenan would serve as acting secretary for DHS after her departure.
  • Secretary of the Interior Ryan Zinke resigned with plans to step away from his post at the end of 2018, Trump said in a tweet in December. Then-Deputy Secretary of the Interior David Bernhardt became acting secretary of the interior on Jan. 2.
  • White House Chief of Staff John F. Kelly, who resigned with plans to step away from his post at the end of 2018. The president said Mulvaney, who also serves as director of the Office of Management and Budget, would become his acting chief of staff after Kelly's exit.

About the Author